How to Enable Private Browsing in Safari?

One of the key benefits is that it maintains confidentiality about your browsing behavior. Other people will not have access to the history of the sites you may have visited and the passwords you have stored. Some websites store tracking cookies on your computer to facilitate advertisers to promote their products that may interest you. Private browsing in Safari prevents this activity. Very often it is vital to maintain your anonymity from “prying eyes” or extra inquisitive websites. Important data may be stored in temporary files and cookies that you must protect from all and sundry.

In Private browsing, records of downloads and other history lists are removed. Most websites cannot change information on your device. No cache files can be stored with this mode of browsing. There are several security risks that you may wish to eliminate. This is where Safari’s private browsing lends its expertise. Naturally, it has become a favorite browsing option along with its ease of operation. Besides, there several hidden features which are apparent until you get deeply into them.

Getting Down To The Basics

Switching on Private Browsing on your device will obviously be different for every individual product that Apple offers. Listed below are the different steps you may have to follow to get the required result:

Turn on Private Browsing on Mac

When you wish to choose Private browsing on your Mac when using Safari,

  1. Select Safari > Private Browsing. This icon is located in the upper left hand side of the screen and you can activate it when the drop down menu appears.
  2. Click OK on the confirmation message. This will activate the private browsing function.

In case you wish to go directly to the Private Browsing section, keep the Option Key pressed. It is important to mention that each time you close your computer the Safari option closes automatically, although it may be running at the time of closure. Every time you restart, and desire the Private browsing application, you will have to reactivate it.

This is applicable for all the other platforms as well. Safari is tuned to the OS X to maintain privacy. It is important to keep all software updates in place by regularly installing them.

Turn on Private Browsing on iPhone, iPad and iPad touch with iOS 7 or higher versions

  • Open Safari as you normally do.
  • Go to any web page site that generates a URL bar and the navigation options.
  • Tap on the two squares in the panel’s icon corner.
  • Tap on the Private mode to enter and then you can choose from the two options available with reference to the web pages:
  • The Close All option that as the name suggests will terminate all existing pages, and enable you to start a fresh private browsing session and discards all other tabs and panels.
  • The Keep All option enables you to keep all the open pages to be included in your private browsing session. This option is essential in case the user wishes to keep intact all the different web pages the user may have already visited and if it is being used on a public device.

Whenever, the Private Browsing mode is in operation the screen turns dark.

Activating, the Private Mode application on the iPhone in the iOS 7 format is achieved by selecting the Settings Icon placed at the top of the home screen.

Turn on Private Browsing on the iPad

  1. Enter the Safari browser.
  2. Tap on the web address positioned at the top of the screen to enable the onscreen keyboard.
  3. Tap on the Private icon button, placed on the top left hand corner above the letter “Q”. The iPad will now want to know if you wish to close all existing tabs. On completion of your objective, it will again prompt you to close all tabs which is essential.

There are minor differences in the operation of the Private browsing depending on the type of iOS operating system you are employing. For earlier versions, the Private browsing section was clubbed together with the other common settings of Safari. No specific importance was allotted to this mode.

  1. Firstly, you have to exit the Safari platform and activate or deactivate the Private Browsing application.
  2. Tap on the iPad Settings Icon and enter the “Getting help into the iPad’s settings Tab”.
  3. Scroll down to the left side Safari window and select if you wish to enter or close private browsing.
  4. Follow this by going to the “Able or Disable” cookies option.

Importantly, many websites do not function effectively if the cookie function is turned off. However, if you prefer secrecy, then this function should be disabled. Your choices here are “Never”, “Always” and “From third parties and advertisers”, this third party option is best for maintaining a decent amount of privacy. Disabling forever may affect your viewership considerably. Many websites do not perform to expected norms without these cookies. You have to be discretional in your choice. It is preferred that you choose the “Do not track” option which prevents websites from following you.

To remove all cookies and relevant data, it is important to ensure that you maintain the highest level of web security. These buttons are placed at the bottom of the Safari settings page. Another plus point is that the fraudulent website warning gets switched on by default.

In case you wish to maintain a record of all the sites visited, the Safari browser permits you to keep all information in a bookmarked folder.

To identify the browsers mode, it will turn black on the borders instead of the regular white, when the private browsing application is switched on.

Activation of the Private browsing mode can also be effected from the keyboard. To activate this method it is necessary to create keyboard shortcuts. Open the keyboard and mouse preferences section and click on the keyboard shortcuts tab along with the plus sign, then set the pop up menu application to Safari and enter Private Browsing as the Menu Title and click add. Your keyboard shortcut is now ready.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Spread the Love!

If you like what you're reading, should we expect a like, tweet or a +1?

Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Pinterest
Linkedin